top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNirali Desai

Where do I go from here?



Having finished my dream internship in Washington DC, I wondered about this question a lot in the last few months--what is next?


Ideally, I would like to solve for world poverty. But more practically, I am clear that I want to continue working for the empowerment of women in informal economies across developing world. World Bank and other international organizations like International Monetary Fund, Asian Development Bank, International Labor Organization offer many opportunities to work in this field and I am keen to explore these. What I also want to prioritise is working closer to the grassroots, which is unfortunately not best achieved by working at intergovernmental organizations. As someone who wants to stay back in the US and gain more international exposure before returning to India, I will have to confront this dilemma.


I know that I am taking the learnings from the World Bank internship to create a path for me that lets me work on issues I care about at a deeper level.


I would like to thank Women in Public Policy Program at Harvard Kennedy School for giving me this opportunity to spend my summer in a meaningful way.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page